A World Record of Bubbles and Giveaway

April 6, 2011

Mishy holding on to her Media Pass as people set up to break the world record.

How many people can fit under a bubble? On Monday, April 4th, 2011, it was 118 and a new Guinness Book of World Record for Fan Yang, Bubble Master extraordinaire at the Discovery Science Center in Santa Ana. Mishy and I were invited to be one of the many people inside the bubble. When we arrived after the quota of children under five feet tall was already filled, we became part of the Press. Mishy wore her own Media Pass. It’s a different perspective being part of the press. We were treated differently. Instead of waiting in line to get inside the Bubblefest tent, we were able to walk right in and there was food for us to snack on. Mishy had a bit of a sandwich before she mingled while photographers took pictures of her. They called her cute.

Fan Yang being interviewed.

Being a reporter felt like being on a movie set. There was a lot of waiting. The photographers waited with their cameras sitting on the seats, while newscasters and reporters interviewed Fan Yang. I opted not to interview him, because I felt kind of funny being surrounded by reporters from major news stations. Instead, I interviewed a mom, Olga, who had been going to see the Bubblefest shows for ten years and was extremely excited to be part of the world record with her son. Olga said she found out about the event by the Discovery Science Center’s website and would have arrived earlier to check in if she parked in the other Macy’s parking lot. Unfortunately, the mishap caused her to arrive later and her daughter didn’t make the quota.ย Her youngest daughter wasn’t able to participate inside the bubble due to her size. She sat with us as the 118 walked on stage to take their place in history.

Pricilla, the host of Bubble Fest.

Priscilla, the host of Bubblefest appeared and started the proceedings. Groups of people made their place on stage and waited as others got into position.

Fan Yang preparing the bubbles for the Guinness Book of World Record.

Once everyone was on stage, Fan Yang, fluffed up the bubble solution which had already been placed around the edges of the stage by his assistants. He then attempted three times to break the world record. Once the world record was confirmed, more bubbles filled the stage as we all celebrated.

118 people inside a bubble to break the Guinness Book of World Record.

Mishy playing with the bubbles.

Fan Yang and his co-workers with the owner of Discovery Science Center and the representative from Guinness with his official certificate of his achievement.

After the celebration, Mishy and I headed inside to play. Discovery Science Center is a fun, educational experience. Currently, the temporary exhibit, Sesame Street Presents: The Body, is one of the highlights for us. Throughout the day, visitors are able to meet Elmo. I wrote about our time at the exhibit in another blog post: Elmo, Idolatry, and Never Let Me Go –ย http://wp.me/pN7Op-iu

Mishy lying on a bed of nails.

After visiting Elmo, we naturally lay on a bed of nails. Mishy went first and she gave me instructions – “Put your arms around yourself like you’re hugging Momma. Put your legs together and don’t move.” She said the nails tickled a little. I told her the nails hurt me. They were sharp. She didn’t find it so.

We then spent time in the earthquake room, took in the Bubblefest show and went back home to Santa Monica. Well, first, Mishy picked out a large T-Rex dinosaur figurine. She hugged it while she dozed off in the car as I drove and missed most of rush hour traffic.

Need more information about Bubblefest? Here’s the link:ย http://www.discoverycube.org/programs.aspx?q=74

* Natural Traveling Momma is excited to be giving away 4 tickets to see Bubblefest 15: A Mega Dose of Bubbles as well as entry tickets to Discovery Science Center – a retail value of over $100 to one lucky winner. The tickets are for any Bubblefest show on April 21st, 2011. To enter, please comment below. To gain an additional entry, click on to the Discovery Science Center and comment below again. The contest ends on April 12th, 2011 at midnight. Good luck!

www.discoverycube.org

38 Responses to “A World Record of Bubbles and Giveaway”

  1. cecile canu Says:

    That look like it was so much fun !!! We love bubbles in the family!

  2. Tania Says:

    This one is hilarious.thanks again MJ


  3. Thank you for sharing your behinds-the-scenes experience! We are homeschoolers in Laguna Hills, who frequently visit the DSC, and I am also a T.E.N. member (LOVE their TEAM Workshops). When I received the invite to participate in this bubble record setting event, I attempted to sign-up immediately. Unfortunately, they had already reached their quota, but … I was so excited to see they set the record!! AND I am thrilled to read that they allowed you and your daughter to participate in some manner … the DSC once again shows what a wonderfully family friendly location they are!

  4. k earley Says:

    What a fun giveaway. I would love to win ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Karen Says:

    What great pictures! I loved bubblefest 2010 and hope to go again this year. We had so much fun!

  6. Tami Vasquez Says:

    I love this. My kids enjoy the bubbles do much

  7. Pam Moore Says:

    118!! OMG! That *is* an amazing feat! Thank you for sharing with us and for pointing us in the direction of fun!

  8. Susan Says:

    Oh, how exciting! I’d love for my 18 month old son to be able to experience this event, along with his grandparents who live in the OC. Thank you for sharing…
    (bubbles and nails – like the juxtaposition too)

  9. Kathy Says:

    This looks like so much fun!! It’s amazing how bubbles can turn my ‘sophistocated’ 7.5 yr old into a toddler. I think bubbles do that to all of us. Pick us, Mia!

    Thanks! Peace & Smiles, Kathy & Connor

  10. Rebecca Says:

    what a wonderful day! we’d love to go.

  11. CindyC Says:

    How fun! We would love to see Bubblefest!

  12. Sarah Shackleton Says:

    Loved reading this… love all your blogs. Thanks so much!

  13. Jean Says:

    Sounds like it was a lot of fun… but then bubbles are the best! ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. karen elpant Says:

    oooohhhhh bubbles! pick me! pick me!

  15. Laura Alice Says:

    Bubblefest looks like so much fun! If we don’t win tickets we’ll go anyway.

  16. Jenny H. Says:

    That’s one tough gal on a bed of nails! Hope to win the prize! Max loves bubbles and discovery.

  17. Jenny H. Says:

    Entering again, although the link at the bottom of the post didn’t seem to work.

  18. Sandy Jacobs Says:

    This sounds soooo fun!

  19. Linnea Says:

    Great blog! My boys love bubbles, so we’d be ecstatic to win the tickets! ๐Ÿ™‚

  20. Floriann Lew Says:

    My kids love bubbles! ; ) I would love to surprise them!

  21. Gabrielle Says:

    I am so excited! I really hope to win!

  22. Pamela Says:

    I am new to your blog. I am very excited to have found it. Would love an opportunity to play with some bubbles.

  23. judy Says:

    I would like to win 4 tickets. Thank you!

  24. Ruth Zankich Says:

    I would love to win. My toddler is crazy about bubbles!

  25. Ruth Zankich Says:

    2nd entry for Discovery Link!

  26. Carolyn N Says:

    My son and I love bubbles! And we would love to check out the Sesame Street exhibit!

  27. Carolyn N Says:

    Just clicked on the discoverycube link about bubblefest and got even more excited!

  28. Elizabeth M. Says:

    We would love to go! What a treat! Thank you for the contest.

  29. Elizabeth M. Says:

    entering again – I clicked on the link but it didn’t seem to work for me so I used one of your other Discovery ctr. links instead. I hope that qualifies

  30. Alex Says:

    We’d love to go. Thanks for the chance.

  31. Sarah Says:

    This looks like a blast!

  32. joy Says:

    love it! and a second entry for discovery link!

  33. joy Says:

    i clicked on the link and it said sorry page not found but the link for info worked.

  34. Dana Hensarling Says:

    Hi!
    What a cool event. My 3.5 yr old would love this. He goes crazy for bubbles!

    -The Hensarling Family

  35. Joni Says:

    My daughter just asked to visit the dsc over Spring Break. I’d love to win tickets to take her.

  36. Naeli Says:

    Bup-ples…says my 1 year old!
    Love your entries!

  37. anash Says:

    Thanks for this splendid giveaway
    would love to attend!!

  38. anash Says:

    I clicked your link- looks like sooo much fun!!


Leave a Reply

