Circus Tricks For Toddlers And Moms Can Join Too

January 25, 2011

Today, Mishy and I attended an extremely fun and silly show by Jumbo Shrimp Circus. It surprised me how much I enjoyed it because it isn’t the kind of theatre I tend to enjoy – it isn’t high brow, or philosophical, or emotional or intellectual – it’s fun and silly and you leave the theatre with a bit more practical knowledge of how to become a clown – through practice and start juggling with scarves!

When you enter the theatre, you are greeted by Epoxie, who is cleaning the stage. He is a friendly, slightly melancholy clown who welcomes you, asks your name and lets you know, you can do whatever you like during the show – you can leave, you can walk on stage, you can eat popcorn – which they sell in the lobby and Mishy goggled up – you and your child are free to enjoy yourself and not be restricted. Epoxie isn’t a particularly a talented clown. I think that’s part of his charm. (Philip Briggs, who plays Epoxie performed at Barnum and Bailey Circus.) His lack of “ability” tells the audience it’s fine to make mistakes and I love that message.

The show is completely interactive – audience members are free to sit on stage – which we did, participate in some of the clowning – which everyone did and enjoy in the mayhem. My daughter spinned a plate on a stick today! (I wish I brought a camera.)

Jumbo Shrimp Circus has only two performances left – Wednesday, January 26th, 2011 and Friday, January 28th, 2011 – both shows are at 10:30AM. This show is geared for preschoolers and adults who want to play like preschoolers. The show is one hour long and the time goes by quickly.

To buy tickets, here is the link:

http://events.dailynews.com/los-angeles-ca/events/show/156007005-the-jumbo-shrimp-circus-toddler-theatre

2 Responses to “Circus Tricks For Toddlers And Moms Can Join Too”

  1. KEarley Says:

    I took my 3 and 5 year old to this show last week. It was very entertaining. Your review was very helpful. Before going I had also read to give yourself time as parking can sometimes be challenging. The metered parking on the street in front of the theater is only 1 hour so unless you plan to leave the show to feed the meter I wouldn’t suggest parking there. We found free street parking in the neighborhood behind the theater. Epoxey is great and very patient with the kids. It is defiantly a show geared towards younger kids. I would say 5 or maybe 6 and under.


  2. Thanks for the great review! I have altered the show considerably and remounted it at the Two Roads Sundays at 11 AM and Mondays at 1:30 PM
    I hope you can come back, or at least let your followers know.
    Philip


Leave a Reply

