Santa Monica’s Farmers Market

February 26, 2010

Mishy on the way to the farmers market with new baby in hand.

Before giving birth, one of my favorite things to do during the week is go the Santa Monica’s Wednesdays Farmers Market. It covers 6 blocks of wonderful Southern Californian produce, bread, and nuts. This farmers market was one of the main reasons why I learned to drive. I didn’t drive before arriving to L.A. I didn’t have a need since I lived in Toronto and New York where public transportation is plentiful. When I passed my driver’s test, my driving instructor and I celebrated by going to the Santa Monica’s farmers market with pomegranate juice.

Mishy drinking pomegranate juice and saying, "Ahhhh!"

I love sharing all the things I love with Mishy. Of course we have our favorite stands and they change as the seasons change. Here are a few of them.

Bezian’s Bakery Bread – located at the bottom of the Farmer’s Market near 2nd and Arizona. They make the most amazing sourdough bread.

Basiltops – they give away free samples of small pieces of bread with pesto. I never tried them until Mishy wanted to since making pesto is relatively easy. Now, she loves it. Her favorite flavor is Pesto Perfectto. They use lactose free cheese which is a bonus for Mishy since she is slightly lactose intolerant.

The Japanese Stand on Arizona near 3rd Street – We always get their Japanese cucumbers. They are delicious in the quinoa tabbouli I make.

We have so many more stands we love. I will update them as we make our way weekly to the Farmer’s Market!

Details: Santa Monica’s Wednesday Farmers Market, located on Arizona near the Promenade. 8:30AM-1:30PM.

(By the way, the top photo was taken before I started the car.)

Leave a Reply

