Pancakes, Pancakes!

February 26, 2010

Mishy mixing the flour and egg

I have been a huge fan of Eric Carle. I remember my Italian language teacher reading us, The Very Hungry Caterpillar. I was overjoyed when I found out it was also written in English. Mishy’s favorite book when she was 4 months old was Eric Carle and Bill Martin Jr’s, Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See? How did I know this? She always got excited when I read it to her . She made it clear she wanted me to read it more.

Today, she picked up, Eric Carle’s, Pancakes, Pancakes! I was so excited to read it to her since I had bought it a year ago and was just waiting for her to show interest in it. We read it a few times and I noticed she was moving her mouth, making motions like she was chewing the pancake at the end of the book. I asked her if she would like to make pancakes, using the recipe in the book. She was game. We went into the kitchen and starting gathering the ingredients, making slight modifications. She helped me measure and stir. We melted the butter and poured the batter. Flipped the pancake when it was brown underneath, like the book and them slid it on a plate and spooned wild blueberry sauce. We waited for it to cool and then we ate it. It was good!

The finished product with our variation - freshly made wild blueberry sauce instead of strawberry jam.

I made another one for Babba and called him using Skype to come upstairs. (My cell phone is still busted. Skype has come in handy and is also incredibly reasonable for the year.) Babba ended up eating three more.

Mishy watches Babba eating the pancake. She liked hers.

Details: Pancakes, Pancakes! by Eric Carle. Here is the Amazon link.

http://www.amazon.com/Pancakes-Eric-Carle/dp/0689822464/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1267162548&sr=8-1

Leave a Reply

